Posted by: gdevi | June 13, 2015

Ryley Walker and misc.

I heard Ryley Walker’s music on NPR a while back and it reminded me of Led Zeppelin and Jimmy Page. I have been listening to Ryley Walker’s music since then on YouTube, and I like his music very much. He reminds me, anachronistically, of the 60s and 70s English folk-rock music, particularly, folks like Jimmy Page, and Page’s influences like the wonderful Davey Graham, who made English folk music sound like jazz, or Indian and Moroccan melodies. Very beautiful. I guess why I really thank Ryley Walker is because listening to him made me go back and listen to all of those old English and Scottish folk-rock musicians that I had not heard in a long long time–Davey Graham and Bert Jansch, in particular. I remembered so many things I had forgotten till now — Simon and Garfunkel playing Anji, even Harry Sacksioni playing While My Guitar Gently Weeps. It was all totally great. Thank you, Ryley Walker. You play very beautifully, and you play a very beautiful genre of music in your own way. And I like your voice. And it is progressive music. Blessings for all kinds of successes for you.

Jimmy Page, White Summer/Black Mountainside/Kashmir

Leave a Reply

Categories

