Posted by: gdevi | March 27, 2015

For Forough

There were some extra plates and paint left over from our plate making workshop. So I made another plate this evening–this one for Forough Farrokhzad, the Iranian poet. I tried to copy the publicity still from Kiarostami’s film The Wind Will Carry Us. Kiarostami took the title of his movie from Forough’s poem; it is also used in the movie in a crucial scene. It is a great poem. I have to work on it some more; it looks strange. I cannot draw at all. But I wrote about the movie and the film in my book. It was so peaceful just to sit there in that studio and paint this plate.

farrokhzad

Leave a Reply

Categories

