Posted by: gdevi | February 24, 2015

Flowers for Spring

Thank you, Lisette, for the lovely flowers! I am going home right after my IS meeting. I am so tired and I feel so sick; I think I have the flu. So thank you, my dear friend, for the lovely flowers–something to look forward to this spring, in my gar20150224_112315den!

Later.

I had been feeling really sick since Friday–systematic pain and numbness on the left side of my face–just on the left side.  Anyway it became really bad today and I knew it was no longer the flu or the cold or anything. I am generally a healthy person so when I feel sick I know it. So I got an appointment with my GP but it is only later in the week.  Around 6 this evening, the pain became really bad so I went to the ER since I have to teach three classes tomorrow; I didn’t think I could talk. K was at work and D was home. I thought I would just go see the ER doctor and get something for the pain and come back. But they did a CAT scan and they think that I have one or the other: I either had a small stroke, which I did not know about; or I have a disease of the cranial nerve called trigeminal neuralgia. Anyway, I have more tests that I have to do this week.  This is a very bad time of the year to do all of this; I have so much work to do. So much work. And I spent nearly three hours in the ER getting all of these tests done. It was just incredibly busy in the ER. There was a young woman–an adolescent–literally covered in blood from head to toe and her arms were in shackles and she had the police with her. She was in the examination room across from mine. There were people screaming on either side of me. It was unbelievable. But the nurse who worked with me and the doctor were both so very kind. The nurse who worked with me had the best name for a nurse: Angel Joy Winn. At least that is what it sounded like. The doctor asked me on a scale of 1-10 what # was my pain? Since I have a very high threshold for pain, I probably misled him: I said 5. It is probably an 8.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

