Posted by: gdevi | November 23, 2014

Don’t Giggle in Church

In her persistent efforts to educate her ancient mother on the virtues of modern music, my daughter made me listen to an idiotic song by someone called Hozier called Take me to Church. It was painful. It was about some guy being so in love with some girl who giggles in church during a funeral. Oh my dear daughter, ask me to break all the black ice in the driveway, but please spare me this pretentious drivel. Please don’t let the pop music industry convince you that falling in love is the greatest thing in the world and that it is better than being aware of god or morality or ethics etc. It is not. Oy.

Just to clear my head after this drivel, I listened to my favorite love songs:

Louis Armstrong, Within the Circle of Your Arms

Bob Dylan, Spirit on the Water

Ella Fitzgerald, Lullaby of Birdland

Louis Armstrong, Blueberry Hill

Okay, back to grading.

Leave a Reply

Categories

