Posted by: gdevi | September 9, 2014

Happy Birthday Tolstoy!

It is Tolstoy’s birthday today. See the doodle by Google here.

Read statement by the doodle artist, Roman Muradov here.

I hope you all had a chance to see the doodle, my Russian boys and girls from last semester.  It is so terrible that I have so much work. I wish I could sit in some corner and read Tolstoy all over again.  The most intensely beautiful moments in my life were given to me by my daughter and the 19th century Russian novelists. Happy Birthday, dear Tolstoy!

ps: In other news, a star-studded tribute album to Paul McCartney. The Cure sings one of the dumbest Beatles songs Hello Goodbye. But I look forward to Alice Cooper singing Eleanor Rigby!!! Ha! No More Mr. Nice Guy singing the ultimate nice guy song!! Is he still incognito when he goes to church? What’s next? Megadeath singing When I am 64? Whitesnake singing Come Together? I can’t wait.

And Allen Toussaint singing Lady Madonna — total piano song! Nice!

Here is one of my favorite Paul McCartney songs. You know, male singers and the male music industry pander to women as their fanbase–they say things they think women like to hear; such as, “I will take care of you,” and  “you have a great body” and other creepy things. I am not denying that there is a woman fanbase that loves those kind of songs. Good lord they exist. Every industry sells its stuff to women first, washing machine, refrigerator, and the music industry.  And women too sing like this, specifically to pander to their male fanbase. But the fact of the matter is that the Beatles and maybe Chuck Berry made it possible for women to freely love good music, which has nothing to do with the singer being a man or making them think of men as their objects of romantic fantasy or anything like that. It is the song that you think about, not the singer. It is just totally great music.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

