Posted by: gdevi | September 7, 2014

The final fruits

Here are the final fruits of the summer. Pretty, aren’t they? Very tasty too.

cherrytomatoespepperspepperstomatoesroma!finalharvest2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I feel so content and happy today. I have decided–finally–to go back to school and get a degree in Community Health. I mean I will continue to teach until I can find a job in community health. And Lock Haven offers a degree in community health in the Health Sciences department. I can slowly start taking courses while I am teaching. I had always wanted to work in community health. Something made me an English teacher. I like teaching and I like my students. I am a good teacher. But I always wanted to work in community health, particularly with older people, death and dying, and women and children. I was professionally the happiest when I worked with the disabled folks years ago in Grand Forks, North Dakota. They were all such good people. I don’t think there is anything more for me to do in teaching or in higher education. I am 48 years old and I might live for another 10 years, and that is stretching it. If I can work at least a couple of years in community health, I would die happy. I think the salary might be less than in teaching, but that is okay. I never work because of money anyway, and the universe has always taken care of me. I feel so happy today.

Sunday update

Normally, when there is a surplus of tomatoes, I make sauce or puree and freeze them. Since last year everyone had tomato sauce coming out of their ears, this year, I thought I would can some of them. I have never canned anything before though I absolutely love fruits and vegetables canned at home — peaches, pears, okra, peppers, tomatoes, ah! So I thought since I got about 40 roma tomatoes yesterday, I will can them this time. There is still more ripening in the bush. SueAnn gave me her mason jars –she even had lids with her — and this big cauldron to boil the jars and sterilize them, and then I cooked the tomatoes through lightly, and packed them in lemon juice and cooking liquid, and I have five quart jars of home canned tomatoes! I feel so good! Thank you SO MUCH, SueAnn! I owe you one!

cannedtomatoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

