Posted by: gdevi | March 7, 2014

LHU Women’s History Month-Dare to Compete: The Struggle of Women in Sports

Dare to Compete FlyerOn behalf of LHU Women and Gender Studies program, I invite you to the second event in our celebration of March and Women’s History month:  a screening of the HBO Documentary Dare to Compete: The Struggle of Women in Sports (1999).

The film will be screened on Monday, March 10, at the Hamblin Hall of Flags, 6:30pm.

There will be a panel discussion with LHU Coaches and Faculty following the screening.  Prof. Sharon Taylor (Retired Athletic Director, LHU), Ms. Patricia Rudy (Head Field Hockey Coach, LHU), and Ms. Heather Leverington (Head Track and Field Coach, LHU) will lead the discussion. Please see the attached flyer.

The documentary is a vivid chronicle of the struggles that women athletes have faced to claim a significant place in the world of professional sports. A documentary history of women in high-visibility sports, Dare to Compete tells the story of some of the defining moments in women’s sport history, such as the 800 meter run in the 1928 Olympics, the formation of the AAGPBL during World War II, Babe Didrikson Zaharias’s stunning performance in the 1954 US Women’s Open, and rare film footage of Track and Field at Tennessee State University that produced Olympic gold medalists Wyomia Tyus and Wilma Rudolph.

And there is so much more.

We hope you will join us. Please contact me at gdevi@lhup.edu or x2284 for any inquiries.

Responses

  1. Hello – I’m taking a long shot here. My name is Regina Lark and I teach US Women’s History at Los Angeles Pierce College. The documentary, “Dare to Compete: The Struggle of Women in Sports” is the best I’ve seen and I’ve been trying to track down a copy for about 5 years. It seems to be unavailable for purchase anywhere, and my college doesn’t have library privileges with any university that may have a copy.

    Through one of my searches I noted that LHU had what looked like a great event – the film and a panel discussion – on March 10, 2014. I’m writing to see if there’s ANYTHING you can do to help me get a copy of this film.

    Thank you for your consideration.

    In sisterhood,
    Regina

    Regina F. Lark, Ph.D.
    Los Angeles Pierce College

    • I am sorry I just saw your comment, Regina; my apologies for the long delay in responding. I have asked our library to let me know how to purchase the DVD. Since it is summer things are a bit slow here. As soon as I hear anything, I shall let you know. Thanks much. Gayatri


Leave a Reply

Categories

