Posted by: gdevi | August 24, 2012

Ode to Sleep Deprivation

School starts on Monday, but what a day today. I got all of my syllabi done, the independent study applications reviewed, and the D2L sites updated with stuff for the rest of the semester. I am afraid it is going to be a long, long semester. I am again teaching five courses–Linguistics, Grammar, Core Texts, and Composition, and I have two students wanting to do independent studies with me. I am working with nearly 170 students this semester. Plus I have to edit the Arab cinema book, edit the women and mythology journal, take care of all my advising and departmental work, and my daughter’s school, swimming and other activities. I am looking at full five months of sleep deprivation. And you know, I am a person who really likes to sleep.  In December, I hope to fall into a coma like Rip Van Winkle! Next to the Beatles, here is my favorite song about sleeping; you know, I so regret the fact that Bill Evans is dead. I would have liked to have seen Evans play. I feel this way only for a few musicians in the west–Bill Evans, Chet Atkins, Mark Knopfler, Sonny Landreth. At least, there is still Mark Knopfler and Sonny Landreth.

https://i2.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/_BgtCVZ5hq-c/S5UjJJnG2cI/AAAAAAAAAUs/_n2wqgKZxq4/s400/henri+rousseau+the+sleeping+gypsy.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

