Posted by: gdevi | April 9, 2012

Putting in the Seed

It is so unfair–all day long on this beautiful beautiful day all I could think of was to work on my vegetable bed. I was inside teaching and teaching a wonderful story too, Cortazar’s Letter to a Young Lady in Paris about a man’s gradual mental breakdown and suicide and all I wanted to do all I was itching to do was to run home put on my gardening jeans and get my shovels and spades and rakes and clean out my vegetable bed turn up that sweet sweet soil and plant my seeds! I can’t tell you how much I just want to garden! I wish I could just garden all the time! I am finally finished with classes and I am off now to go home and work on my vegetable beds!

Here is a beautiful poem for a day like this. Please, nation, go out and plant something. If you read this blog entry, make sure you plant a vegetable this year.

Putting in the Seed

You come to fetch me from my work tonight

When supper’s on the table, and we’ll see

If I can leave off burying the white

Soft petals fallen from the apple tree.

(Soft petals, yes, but not so barren quite,

Mingled with these, smooth bean and wrinkled pea;)

And go along with you ere you lose sight

Of what you came for and become like me,

Slave to a springtime passion for the earth.

How love burns through the Putting in the Seed

On through the watching for that early birth

When, just as the soil tarnishes with weed,

The sturdy seedling with arched body comes

Shouldering its way and shedding the earth crumbs.

–Robert Frost

Gorgeous, isn’t it? I am not exaggerating–you really should kneel and kiss the earth, if you have never done it before!

Responses

  1. It is lovely and I can definitely relate to the poem. Robert Frost’s farm is not far from where I live.


Leave a Reply

Categories

