Posted by: gdevi | November 3, 2011

New Poverty Data

The latest data on the rise in poverty in the US.

Where are the super-poor?

I sometimes think there is nothing more heartbreaking than people forced to live in perpetual poverty. There is something fundamentally wrong with all economic systems; I have come to believe that. If I hear one more word about how in America you can always start all over again, I will throw up. Many of our young students these days say this all the time and they believe it too; they are parroting their conservative families. If you are poor in America, then it is your fault, according to them.  If you are poor, then that means that you are stupid. I don’t know how people can think like this. It is so sad and monstrous, even.  It is too late now, I will probably not live long enough to do this, but I would really like to go back to school and study economics.

Leave a Reply

Categories

