Posted by: gdevi | August 25, 2011

Raag Malhar

I had to take the vacuum cleaner to the Dyson repair shop in State College and on my way back the sky opened up! My god what beautiful rainstorm! I cannot think of anything more beautiful than this kind of rain. Anyway it made me think immediately of all the songs in Raag Malhar–the raga closely associated with torrential downpours/ monsoon in Indian classical music. There are even stories of musicians singing Malhar and making it rain!

Ustad Fateh Ali Khan singing a semi-classical composition in Malhar from Koel.

The basic Malhar scale has minor variations and Mian ki Malhar named after Mian Tansen is just a beautiful beautiful raag. Here is  Pandit D. V. Paluskar’s rendition of Mian ki Malhar.

Begum Akhtar’s rendition from Jalsaghar.

Kishori Amonkar’s Drut bandish in Mian ki Malhar.

Pandit Kumar Gandharva’s Alaap in Mian ki Malhar. The same composition in Vilambit bandish from Ghatak’s Meghe Dhaka Tara sung by Pandit Kanan.

Pandit Bhimsen Joshi’s Drut bandish in Mian ki Malhar.

Pandit Sanjoy Bandopadhyay on sitar.

Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia on flute.

And finally another semi-classical composition–Garjat Barsat Saawan Aayo re— I used to love singing this when I was a kid. And I sang it once for the Feast of Nations when I was in grad school. It is one of my favorite songs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

