Posted by: gdevi | March 14, 2011

“What do you want?”

6 am. I am at my daughter’s bedside trying to wake her up.

Me: Dayani, wake up. It is 6 o’clock. You have school today.

Dayani: no response. Burrows deeper into the blanket.

Me: Daya, wake up. What do you want for breakfast?

Dayani: no response

Me: Dayani. Look at the clock. Wake up. What do you want for breakfast?

Dayani: (waking up and murmuring ) It is hard to put into words.

Me: What? What are you talking about? What do you want for breakfast?

Dayani: Do you mean what do I want for breakfast?

Me: Yes, honey, yes. Yes. It is not a cosmic question. What do you want for breakfast today?

Dayani: Toast and bacon.

Me: Thank you my darling. Now wake up.

 

My daughter. I think I gave birth to Calvin.

Leave a Reply

Categories

