Posted by: gdevi | October 9, 2010

Happy Birthday John Lennon!

I used to sit in our swing and swing when I was a kid and sing every song in my Beatles cassettes in the right order, the first to the last, side A side B. I knew them all by heart. The very first Beatles song that I really really loved was Little Child little child won’t you dance with me? What a swinging song! I used to listen to it for hours on end. The lyrics are trite but everything else, the drums, the harmonica, John’s thick working-class voice, the screaming–all of it is so spacious and gorgeous. I like Chuck Berry I like old Rock n’ Roll and to me this was real Rock n’ Roll. It is by now common-place that Paul wrote the beautiful ballads and John did the intellectual stuff and you can tell that however earnest John sounds as the rejected lover that genre could not contain him. Imagine if Shakespeare only wrote A Mid Summer Night’s Dream over and over again! He has to write King Lear, Macbeth, he has to write The Tempest, he has to write Pericles. John was destined to write some of the most unique songs ever from the most unusual places across the spectrum of human imagination: In My Life, For the Benefit of Mr. Kite, Good Morning Good Morning, Norwegian Wood, Julia, Come Together, Strawberry Fields, I’ve Got a Feeling (along with Paul), Everybody’s got something to hide except me and my monkey, Rain, Imagine, Don’t Let me Down, Beautiful Boy, Woman, Free as a Bird, Nobody Told Me. The sweetest songs are always from those who love humanity and not one or two people in it; John wrote for all, there is room for everyone in his songs. George said it the best — you were the one who imagined it all all those years ago! Happy Birthday John!

Leave a Reply

Categories

