Posted by: gdevi | May 8, 2010

Chinglish – Fragrant and Hot Marxism!

See slideshow of Chinglish here.

Read NYT’s article on Chinglish here. I agree with the Linguistics professor who wishes he would get paid to study this! Sigh! If I could get paid to visit each and every Chinese grocery store in this country and catalog their produce tags and general advertisements– ho! God, what a scintillating life that would be! I used to go to the Chinese grocery stores in Dallas just to read their sale banners — the most astounding, perplexing, cross-cultural translation corpus of English that there ever was! I wish I could study this for the rest of my life; maybe I will when I retire.

Leave a Reply

Categories

