Posted by: gdevi | January 7, 2010

A Brief History of Snow

As the worst ice storm in 30 years pummels the UK, here is a beautiful essay about snow, its history.  Apparently he has a book; I am going to get it and read it.  Sounds like a fascinating book. And I had no idea Pieter Bruegel’s Hunters in the Snow was the first winter landscape painting. When I was in grad school I used to go to Montreal every Christmas to spend it with my aunt and her family and my cousin Paul worked in an art store–he sold paintings–and I was there one day–1992 I think–looking through the paintings and I came across Hunters in the Snow and just fell in love with it.  In some ways I was ready to appreciate this painting because when I was growing up in India my oldest uncle to whom I was particularly close to used to tell me about Bruegel and his paintings ; he was a great fan of Bruegel.  I bought it instantly and brought it back to Grand Forks where Browning Arts did this beautiful mounting for me and I have had it all these years. When we lived in Dallas where there is no snow it was a textual curiosity and an aesthetic object for our friends. But now in PA I think I have restored it back to its seamless environment. A magnificent painting!

Leave a Reply

Categories

